March Slice of Life #2

Image

 

Day 2 of the March Slice of Life – a daily challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers

Today is the Oscars – a yearly event that I have watched for over fifty years. I enjoy the parade into the Oscars, the opening monologue (Billy Crystal,  you were my favourite), the speeches, the awards, the memoriams. So, yes, I will watch, although now it is with less admiration, than it is a tradition.

Yesterday, though, I read about, and then watched a video on Alice Herz-Sommer. She died this past week at 110 years of age. She was the oldest Holocaust survivor and had survived the war by playing piano concerts.

Tonight, her life story will be honoured,  possibly with an academy award. I will be cheering for her documentary “The Lady in Number Six” to win (it was made by two Canadians!)

As I watched her remarkable life unfold in the video, I was struck with her optimism and joy of life, even though she had experienced the worst horrors during the war. She was always laughing. Music helped her have hope and always went to her soul.

 Here are several quotes – great words of wisdom for all of us to follow:

Everything is a present. Be thankful always.””

Music brings us to an island, with peace and beauty and love.” 

I look where it is good. I know about the bad, but I look at the good.”

I never hate. Hatred eats the soul of the hater, not the hated.”

Put something in your head every day. Learn, learn, learn. To learn by heart is better than pills.”

Put as much as you can into your heads. Nobody can take it away from you.”

Only when we are old are we aware of the beauty of life.”

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “March Slice of Life #2

  1. I just saw a story on her too. What a survivor and an example for the rest of us who might complain a little too much when something doesn’t go our way. She is/was and inspiration. Thank you for the reminder.

  2. They won!!! I immediately thought of you and your post! I love that you included all those amazingly inspirational quotes- I did a literary unit on the Holocaust earlier this year, and I can’t wait to share these quotes with my students. Thank you for sharing this today!

    • I was so excite to see they had won. It was too bad Alice hadn’t lived to see it – but I am sure she was watching!
      She is a very inspiring woman. Hope your students enjoy the quotes.

Leave a Reply

