March Slice of Life – #29

Image

Today is day 29 for the march Slice of Life daily writing challenge, hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Photos and Memories

When I went to facebook yesterday, I saw a photo my nephew had posted and I recognized everyone.

Image

He wasn’t too sure, so I told him this this was a photo of his dad (my older brother), his grandfather, me (topless!), grandmother and aunt.  My brother was able to identify the place – Lake Mattabin, Quebec, a place I didn’t remember.

As I looked closely at the photo, I knew I was 4 or 5 but I did not remember being on the boat. I did vaguely remember climbing stone steps.

Later I pulled out the first album I ever made, as a ten year old. The first photo was of a young girl. I knew I had played with her, the house I lived in but I could not remember her name. I hadn’t even put it in the album.

As I leafed through the album, few memories were vivid. I could remember snippets of events and people, but if names were not listed I could not remember them.

It seems like memories are slipping away. As I look back, some memories can be remembered from a photo and some memories play like a video in my mind, with much detail.

I have a shoebox of old photos of my Mom’s, that I received after she died. When I looked through them, too many had no names or dates and it was only a guessing game who the people were. Now, there is no one left to tell me who these people are.

I am saddened by the loss of these memories, of not knowing who these people were. I have so many albums and photos, filled with moments captured in time. A smile, young children, people I’ve cared about – I don’t want to ever lose these memories.

 

6 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – #29

  1. You are not alone. I have many photographs too with no names and dates. I think I better makes sure that I include names and dates on the photos that I will leave behind!

  2. The same thing happened to me with my Mom’s photographs. Just today I spent time fixing some photographs that I had uploaded on my computer with the incorrect dates. We think we will never forget but time adds other things to our memory. Some stories disappear and it makes me sad, too. Your writing about this today reminds me I am not alone in this and somehow that is encouraging.

Leave a Reply

