March Slice of Life – #30

Image

Today is Day 30 of the March Slice of Life daily writing challenge, hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Hard to believe we are almost at the end of this writing journey. I will miss the daily writing – hopefully I will continue. My goal is to continue to write daily.

In a conversation with my daughter Friday night, we got onto the topic of looking for partners.

She had been through a bad relationship and had just recently found someone special. She then told me about the list she had drawn up of what she would want in a partner. She then it away. Just recently, she looked at it and was surprised at how accurate the list was to the traits of her new boyfriend.

I had gone through much of the same process fifteen years ago. After I separated from my now ex, I drew up a long list of what I sought in a new partner, certain that no one could match it. But I did leave it will God.

When I met my now husband online, both of us were positive about never marrying. We then phoned each other, met and then dated. Two years later we were married, both of us aged 50.

Shortly after that, I found that list and I was amazed to see all but one of the items on the list matched my husband. The only thing different – he was not taller than me. Instead, we see eye to eye – we are the same height.

14 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – #30

  1. Like the comment above, It makes one wonder about the positive and looking forward of writing that list, Beverley. Fun to hear, and nice that you are with a wonderful partner-eye-to-eye!

  2. Bev, love the line….”We see eye to eye.” Congratulations to you and your “GROOM” Bev….sounds like a match made in heaven. We only hope that our children can be happy as well.

  3. I’ve been talking with my daughter lately about her “list.” It’s so hard to see her struggle with loneliness. Your happy ending is cheering and encouraging.

    • Thanks Marilyn. I think what happened with both of us was that we released it and forgot about it. I did not want a serious relationship but God had other plans. Now we will be married 12 years in July.

Leave a Reply

