It’s Monday! What are You Reading

Image

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys.  Jen  of “Teach Mentor Texts“and Kellee of “Unleashing Readers” host a mostly kidlit version.

As they say: “If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels, anything in the world of kidlit – join us! We love this meme and think you will, too. We encourage everyone who participates to visit at least three of the other kidlit book bloggers that link up and leave comments for them. ”

I have decided to rejoin this fun meme as I am reading more books for children, from picture books to YA books and studying them for my own writing. I am signed up for a picture book writing course in May and want to immerse myself in these books this month.

Over the past few weeks I have read some wonderful books.

Thunder Over Kandahar by” Sharon McKay

Image

I have been trying to read a variety of books from Afghanistan and this was well written. Based on a true story, it tells about the struggles of a young Afghan girl who returns to Afghanistan with her parents after living in England for many years. We see the horrors of what Yasmine faces as she  seeks an education and her friend Tamanna’s strength as they try to escape the Taliban.

A Dog’s Life” by Ann M. Martin

Image

As part of one of the book challenges I am participating in, one of the books to read was one from an animal’s perspective. As I was checking books at our local Recovery shop (50c a book!), I came across this book.

I enjoyed this book about Squirrel. She had a very rough existence but was always able to overcome adversity.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie

Image

This is Sherman Alexie’s first book for young adults and he has written an honest, fun, heart breaking at times account of Junior, who leaves the reservation to attend a white school. He draws cartoons which are showcased throughout the book and becomes a dynamite basketball player.

On the day I finished reading the book, I was checking for information about the author online when I discovered his book had just been banned in a school in Meridian, Idaho. Here is an article on the reasons why.

Today I read 3 picture books while waiting for my tutoring session to begin at the school near me.

Leonardo and the Flying Boy” by Laurence Anholt

Image

I enjoyed the historical aspect of the book and the creative license to expand on the role of Zoro who is an apprentice to Leonardo Da Vinci. We see many of the inventions Leonard created, including his flying machine.

My Mom Is a Foreigner, But Not to Me” by Julianne Moore

Image

Julianne Moore is an actress as well as a writer and has crated an interesting look at parents who have immigrated to the U.S. and have different customs that cause people to see them as foreigners. Their children though,  do not. I enjoyed the book and the ways children interact with their parents.

“Who’s on First?” by Abbott and Costello

Image

If you have not seen this hilarious comedy skit by Abbott and Costello, check it out here.

When I saw the book in the library, I had to read it. John Martz does a good job illustrating this famous skit.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading

  1. I’ve taught the Alexie book, & know about the censorship. Too bad; it’s wonderful. I have the Ann Martin book-will try to get to it-she’s a good author, & popular with the middle grade kids. Thanks for the picture books, Beverley. I’m not familiar with any of the three-so will try to find them. Nice to see you here!

  2. We read Sherman Alexie’s Part Time Indian in my adult book club here in Singapore and we had such an interesting and lively discussion about the novel – and that included some of the reasons why it has been banned in other schools. Such a powerful novel written with so much depth and truth. Definitely a must-read.

Leave a Reply

