ROW80 Mid-Week Check-In

Image

 

Time for the ROW80 Mid-Week Check-In

The past few days I have:

* completed 1 post for Slice of Life Tuesday

*read 2.3rds of “Bird by Bird” by Anne Lamott. I am thoroughly enjoying her writing and advice

*received another critique and it has helped me change the chapter to make it stronger

*read several more articles – on outlining and pacing

 

 

Tomorrow, I start a month-long writing course with Susanna Hill on Picture Book Magic. I have written several picture books, but want to improve. I’m looking forward to daily practice.

Tomorrow is also the last day of tutoring, so that then I can get back to a better routine, of morning writing.

       –

7 thoughts on “ROW80 Mid-Week Check-In

  1. I enjoyed Lamott’s style as well, but it’s interesting to note how many people didn’t like Bird by Bird. Maybe they want specifics on technique rather than a emotional connection to a writing life? *shrugs*

    I’m liking your approach with classes, Beverly. No matter how much we know, there’s always something new to learn out there.

    May you have a wonderful week.

  2. Love your check-in!
    I, too, have written/am writing picture books – among other things. A course sounds like a great idea…maybe one day. 🙂
    I love the fact that you are focusing on skills development while writing. I need to do more of the same.
    All the best, Keep us posted on the course. I look forward to learning more.

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever read Bird by Bird, which is odd given how many times I’ve heard it recommended. Guess I need to move it up on my reading list!

    Good progress this week! Enjoy the picture book course. Have a great round!

Leave a Reply

