ROW80 Sunday Check-In

Image

Time again for the weekly Sunday check-in at ROW80. 

This past week I have actually made some headway with my new course and with a new challenge.

I started the “Picture Book Magic” writing course on May 1 and the first lesson was to choose a character and answer a slew of questions. I usually try to get to know the characters I write about, but this list was quite intensive. I have my character – a little girl named Hazel and am trying to work on the problems she will face (lesson 2). Still have more work on this one.

NaPiBoWriWee – national Picture Book Writing Week runs from May 1 -7 and I have joined in. I felt that even though I might now fully write a picture book each day, I would generate ideas and brainstorm each day on one of my ideas. In the past 4 days though, I have written two pix book scripts. It must be true – the more you write, the more you do write.

I have also started my research for my historical MG novel – Jacob’s Journey. I have checked out books from the library and looked online.  I hope to go to the University of Waterloo in the next 2 weeks to do more in depth research.

I worked on another chapter of my newest romance novel.

I posted a poem for “30 Words Thursday”.

I have now finished my tutoring job, so I will have more time for writing, in longer blocks.

In the next few days I will continue with my course and picture book writing; work on my research and my romance novel.

6 thoughts on “ROW80 Sunday Check-In

  1. I’ve never tried to write a picture book, because I always felt it would be very hard (at least for me). Big kudos for taking on that challenge. Hope you enjoy the extra writing time and that things continue to go well for you this round. 🙂

  2. I’ve had a picture book rattling around in my head since before my 12 year old was born…awesome that you’re turning that interest to something more!

    Hooray for larger chunks of writing time, too. I do find that the more I write, the more I write, and the more ideas I have. =)

Leave a Reply

