Slice of Life Tuesday

 11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is “Slice of Life Tuesday” – the writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”

Last week my husband and I made one of our regular trips to St. Joseph’s Hospital in Hamilton, for one of the many doctor visits my hubby must go to. last week was also the 11th anniversary of his kidney transplant.

As we were leaving, we stopped by the display that advertised the Organ and Tissue Donation awareness campaign the hospital was running.

Their theme: “Be a Hero. Be a Donor”

I really feel that being a donor is crucial – that it should be an opt-out on your license, not an opt-in.

Having seen first-hand what dialysis is like, and how it effects your loved one, I urge people to register as a donor. As a donor, you can save up to 8 lives. What a gift to families who’s loved ones are suffering.

 

 organdonation 001

10 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. I’m a donor, Beverley-absolutely! How wonderful to hear about your husband. I have a friend who is living a lovely life right now because of a transplant. I am so grateful for her donor.

  2. I’m also a donor and going to see my grandfather on Friday who is suffering from kidney cancer. This posts reminds me of the happier stories out there. Must remember those. Thank you for sharing.

  3. After reading your Slice, I’m thinking that organ donation doesn’t get enough campaigning and publicity. There should be more. People should be able to read stories, like your husband’s, and begin to understand what organ donation means.

    • Thanks Dana I think that too. There are options for living donors – I donated the kidney to my husband as the wait for a cadaver kidney would have been years.

Leave a Reply

