Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday, that fun writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers

 

Last night was the second night in a row that I just could not get to sleep. I was determined to stay in bed last night and force sleep. It wasn’t going to happen. though  But what happened was  even better in the end. 

I had been at a standstill on my adult novel. Last night I began thinking about the two characters and what they needed to do to move forward. I have started with “summer School for Writers” through NerdyChicks and I guess I was thinking about the lessons. Suddenly I was seeing them interacting and solving a problem I had with the scene. Then the next scene played itself out as well. I often visualize these scenes first before I write.

I had to get up then and capture those scenes on paper. Yes!

The scenes worked, even when I got up this morning and read them over. I am excited now to return to the novel.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. Now that’s the way to use a sleepless night! It’s even better because it still made sense this morning. Hopefully you will sleep now. 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for sharing what works for you as a writer. I love the idea of visualizing scenes before writing them, and will add that to my collection of tools!

Leave a Reply

