November challenges!

November may be a short month, with grey days but it is also a day filled with challenges!

This will be my third year of taking part in PiBoIdMo – Picture Book Idea Month, a writing challenge started by Tara Lazar. It encourages us to think of an idea for a picture book each day of November.

piboidmo-2014

 Last year it resulted in 4 picture book scripts and led me to join SCWBI, 12 x 12 and take numerous courses this year.

There are posts every day, prizes to be won and a wonderful community of writers.

It is also Picture Book Month – a good companion to PiBoIdMo. There will be daily posts about the importance of picture books along with curriculum connections.

 Participant-2014-Facebook-Profile

This will be my third year of taking part in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) as well. Last year I was able to write 50,000 words and it inspired me as well to continue to write novels. I look forward to writing that much or more this year. There’s lots of support as well at the NaNoWriMo website.

aedmlogored

Another challenge I have taken part in each November for a number of years is AEDM – Art Every Day Month at “Creative Every Day”. This challenge is held yearly by Leah Piken Kolidas with her over-riding goal  to encourage people to be more creative. I want to work on my stamp-carving and gelli printing this month.

I am also beginning a 30 day decluttering challenge. Time to finally get rid of much of my teaching material. It has been over a year since I retired and I am not able to supply teach, so time to move forward. Writing and art are occupying my time now (as well as some volunteer work), so I need to let go.

For each of the challenges, I have started a folder to keep track of progress and any inspirational posts. I aim to be more organized than last year. But also have fun with the challenges as well.

2 thoughts on “November challenges!

Leave a Reply

