Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Time for the weekly “Slice of Life” at Two Writing Teachers. Join the community – such a supportive group!

I made my weekly trip to the library yesterday, to return books and pick up some I had reserved. I am always amazed at what I find each week.
I picked up two back issues of “The Artist’s Magazine” and as I skimmed through them this morning, I came across an article (A.M, October 2013) on Ashley Bryan, the 90 year old author/illustrator. What a fascinating man. Two quotes really touched me:
“I don’t separate anything of what I’m living through because I have only the moment, and I want to make the most of it, because we’re not given anything further, anything beyond the moment.”
Answering the question: How do you teach joy?
“It’s what you’re always after. The joy is what keeps you meeting challenges. It doesn’t matter how hard a thing is – if there’s joy and the excitement of pursuing, even if it doesn’t work out, you’ve learned.”

I can’t wait to read the books I picked up as well:
The Cat on the Wall by Deborah Ellis
Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
Knots in My Yo-Yo String by Jerry Spinelli
All of these have been on my ever-growing list of recommended books – from teacher bloggers, websites, newspaper/magazine reviews, friends. Slowly, ever so slowly, I find and read these books. Now there is joy!

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. My son and I LOVE our local library, as well! I am actually sitting in ours working right now 🙂 I am always amazed, as you said, when I come in to the library. For me, it’s like taking a step into history. I have such fond memories of going with my mom and my grandmother; I want my son to have his own memories!

  2. You will love that Spinelli book – such fun to read. The Deborah Ellis title is new to me, I love her work and will have to look it up.Visiting the local library is one of my favorite things to do, too.

Leave a Reply

