2015 Reading Challenges

books 001

This quote by Arnold Lobel speaks to the overflowing bookcases (9!) in my home.

Last year I joined several reading challenges and although I read more than I had planned, I did not complete all the challenges. So this year I plan to set a goal of reading 200 books for the year and join only those that support reading a variety of genres.

Here are the challenges I am joining:

January reading of “The Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver

I have never read this book but have intended to. It sounded like a good chance to read as part of a group.

Poisonwood-Bible-Readalong-button-300x300 (1)

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

Mount TBR 2015

This is a must challenge as I have way too many books not read on my shelves and I really want to clear them a bit.

My goal is to read at least 2 TBR books a month so I plan to climb Mt. Blanc!

Check out the rules here.

Diversity on the Shelf 2015

diversity

I really feel the need to be reading more diverse books. I have already read many native writers but there are so many excellent writers from around the world.

The challenge states:

Any book (by any author) with a main character that is a person of color qualifies for this reading challenge, as well as any book written by an author of color

My goal is to read 24 books which is the 4th Shelf level ( Read 19 -24 books)

Check out the rules here.

2015 You Read How Many Books? Reading Challenge

2015RC HowManyBooks-hosting

This challenge encourages you to read more than you did last year. I read over 150 books – much more than the 100 I had planned to read.

As I plan to read more picture books and MG and YA books this year, I am aiming for 200 (Level 3)

Check here for all the rules.

2015 I Love Picture Books Reading Challenge

Screen shot 2014-10-29 at 6.15.48 PM (1)

I love picture books and have been taking picture book writing courses and writing some as well. I would like to continue my study of this form.

My goal is to read 100 picture books next year.

Check here for all the rules.

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge.

nf 2015download

Having taken a NF picture book writing course and written 3 NF pix books, this is another challenge I want to participate in. It will be great way to continue to study this form.

I plan to read a minimum of 2 NF picture books a month.

Check here for full rules.

2015 Newbery Reading Challenge

502160_orig (1)

I have also been working on writing an MG novel as well and would like tofurther study the craft of writing this genre.

My goal I to read 1 Newbury winner and 1 honour book a month as well as a Caldecott winner as well – which makes 6 points a month or 72 for the year (Lowry level)

Check here for all the rules.

Award Winning Books Reading Challenge 2015

award1461436_868037999908344_1872984322622927452_n (1)

I love the idea of this challenge – that any book counts, whether picture books, YA lit, adult literature – are all welcome as long as they have received an award or recognition – it does not matter what year they won the award.

I plan to read at least one book a month (aside from the Newbery winners as they are in another of my challenges)  – so my goal is silver level (11-25 books).

Check here for full rules.

Here’s to a wonderful year of reading! Join in the fun!

Check here for a slew of reading challenges!

16 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenges

  1. Welcome to the D.O.T.S. reading challenge. Check the January 2015 linky for the first of four giveaways to kick of the reading challenge.
    Thanks for joining us!

  2. Thanks Bev for sharing these WONDERFUL reading challenges with us at The Book Nook At Create With Joy!
    I will definitely be checking the new-to-me ones out – and I hope to see you at tonight’s Twitter Chat for The Poisonwood Bible reading challenge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

