It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Time to share books read, from picture books to YA books.  Jen at “Teach Mentor Texts” hosts this fun meme

Over the past week I have read several books and enjoyed them.

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

5310515

Once I got into reading to finish it today, I was hooked. A wonderful story. Great premise.

Satchel Paige by Lesa Cline-Ransome, illus. by James E. Ransome

523925

Wonderful story of the great baseball player Satchel Paige. Well written and beautifully illustrated.

Jasmine and the Treasure Chest by Kathy Kit and illus. by Tom Knight

15004664

One of my goals this year is to read a lot of chapter and middle grade novels. I picked up several books for $3.33 this past week and this was one of them. A cute story, one I am sure young girls will enjoy.

Chamelia and the New Kid in Class by Ethan Long

16131069

This was another book for $3.33 (hard cover as well!). Another cute story which young children will appreciate, especially as it deals with being the new kid and with someone who wants to be the star.

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. I found it hard to get into, but then I was reading a chapter at a time. Once I sat down tonight (almost half way) I couldn’t put it down. Thinks fell in place and it really was a great read.

  2. I loved When You Reach Me too, but haven’t shared it with students in a long while. I wonder if those in my class even know about it? The Satchel Paige and that sweet Chamelia look good. Thanks, Beverley!

  3. I too loved When You Reach Me. After I finished it, I went and reread Wrinkle in Time. We have a lit circle set of A Wrinkle in Time. If students read and enjoyed it, then I tell them that the main character is reading it. That gets them hooked.

  4. When You Reach Me is my number one favorite book of all time. I’m so glad you ending up enjoying it! Did you know Rebecca Stead has a new book coming out in August 2015. Can’t wait!!

    • I loved L’Engle’s book so knew I would enjoy this. But it started off stop and go as I only had bits of time to readso hard to get into at first – but then finished it in 1 sitting. Enjoyed it.

  5. We discussed When You Reach Me in my adult book club a year ago, and I confessed to not liking it as much as I thought I would. Perhaps when I reread it? We’ll see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

