Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

It’s that time of the week when we share a slice of our lives with the wonderful writing community at “Two Writing Teachers”.

     Tomorrow is my birthday. Seems like I was just turning 50 not so long ago and now I will be 63! As long as I don’t look in the mirror, I feel younger. It is the aches and pains though that give a hint of my age.I am beginning to see my mother more and more in myself,  especially my hands.

“Age is just a number”, “you’re only as old as you feel”, etc, etc. So many sayings to help you feel better about getting older. I really don’t fear getting older – I hate the pain of arthritis right now as it has been getting a bit worse – I put that down to poor diet over Christmas! – but I do fear the threat of stroke. My Mom had her first at 68 and my dad’s dad died of it at 70.

There are dates/ages that seem to resonate and cause us to pause. 49 was the first one – the age when my dad died. I passed that one fairly easily. And now 68 is the next one.

But, I have decided I want to look forward, not worry. I want to grow as a writer and an artist and live each day fully and with gratitude.

2015 and this birthday are going to be good ones!

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. So happy to be able to wish you many happy returns of the day…like you, I son’t fear getting older, and looking forward and living richly are good practices, regardless of how much time any of us has.

  2. I hope you had a wonderful birthday, Beverly. Growing older is always such an unexpected thing. I will be turning 56 this year. Just writing it down sends a shock of surprise through my system. A few years ago I worked on letting go of fear in all of its manifestations; I’m still working on it but that’s not a bad thing. I do believe that its our thoughts that create our health and well-being and so I’m sending lots of positive and fearless thoughts your way. Hope you’ve had a great beginning to 2015.

Leave a Reply

