March SOL #1 – Fever

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today begins the month-long Slice of Life daily writing challenge. SOL is hosted at “Two Writing Teachers” and has a very supportive community.

For the past few days, I have been in a fever. I have not been sick – just obsessed.

I love a good fantasy or science fiction, but especially enjoy getting immersed in a series and a new world created by a writer.

I also enjoy mysteries and two series in particular have me hooked – the Gamache series by Louise Penny (no. 9 won’t be out til August!) and the A-Z Mysteries by Sue Grafton.

But it is the fantasy that I can lose myself in, suspending belief and being drawn into the magic of this new world by the author’s words. It has been a while since I have found such a series. I loved “Lord of the Rings”, “Dune”, “Harry Potter”, “The Hunger Games” and “Divergent” trilogies.

Then on Thursday, I was looking in my library bag for a book to read ( I have been trying to avoid buying books for a while and using the library more). I had just finished “Mockingbird” (by Kathryn Erskine) and “The Red Pencil” by Andrea Davis Pinkney) earlier in the week and wanted something different.

I opened “Darkfever: by Karen Marie Moning and I was hooked. Several hours later I emerged and wanted more. I requested the next two books in the series from the library, thinking that would hold me for the coming week.

I should have known better. I know how I am with a good book. I always vow I will savour it, take my time. But no, once I begin, I am lost to the story.

2:30 last night I finished the third in the series. Yesterday, I had picked up the two books, gone shopping, made dinner and eaten and spent some time with my husband, even gone on the computer for a bit. But the books kept drawing me back and every chance I had, I read.

Now I’ve ordered the next three from the library and I ca’t wait for my next fix, I mean book.

What series/books have you been so caught up in?

4 thoughts on “March SOL #1 – Fever

  1. I get on “fevers” as well. I use the Kindle app on my iPad to read and the real benefit of that is I can go back and re-read books that I’ve gotten obsessed with. I just recently re-read the Psy-Changeling Series by Nalini Singh and the Boonsboro Trilogy by Nora Roberts. I’ve read the Darkfever series and enjoyed it. Good stuff. Enjoy!

  2. I know what it’s like to want to devour a book and hunger for the next one. I am so grateful that authors create series so we can live with the characters for an extended period of time. Unfortunately I have not spent much time reading for fun but instead I’ve been into professional books. I miss my fun books, but soon will have time for them again.

  3. Hi Elsie. I am fortunate – when I was teaching I had little time to get so involved with books. Being retired has opened up more options – for reading, writing and creating art.

Leave a Reply

