March SOL #2

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Day 2 of the March Slice of Life writing Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers. Join in the fun!

I had hoped that with  a new month that I’d start (yet once again) with focusing on new routines. Why is it so hard to eat well, exercise, stress less? Yesterday did not go as I had hoped.

As I sat reading the paper this morning, an article by Dr. Heather Ross, a cardiologist, got my attention. She follows her own advice about having an exercise addiction. She provided a list of 10 things that would “embed heart health into your lifestyle”. Her first prescription really hit me though.

Ask yourself, “Is my life worth an hour a day?

Wow. I had never thought of it that way. What a different way of looking at exercise. Yes, I am worth it. Yes, I definitely need to do something different, better. Even 30 minutes a day is okay.

So, new month – time to be good to myself; time to add a bit of exercise addiction.

14 thoughts on “March SOL #2

  1. What a powerful, thought -provoking statement. Isn’t it awesome how one comment can completely change our lie of thinking? I have been training for a 1/2 marathon – I am NOT a fan of running, but I was sick of being a couch potato. I was doing great until the snow hit. I am just not avid enough to risk my bones and neck by running on snowy/ice mixtures. Spring is coming though! I hope to get back into my routine soon. Good luck with your new month!

    • Thanks Maggie. Yes, it was the right message for me today. I need to get moving.
      You are wise to wait out the icy paths. I fell a few weeks ago on an icy sidewalk just walking to the bus stop and had mild concussion. I am still nervous about going out!

  2. It’s hard to wave a statement like that away. We’re in the same shoes, too. I went back to work from maternity leave in January and have been meaning to go to the gym just about every day since then. Today, however, I’m trying something different to get myself there. March is the month! We’re writing! We’re exercising! Lace em up and let’s go! Your post has further motivated me.

    • It’s funny how sometimes what we need to hear, appears. That statement really spoke to me. Now I need to get at it. Thanks for stopping by. All the best for you as well.

  3. That’s a simple way to put it. I’ve shortened it down to 30 minutes. All I need to do is get moving for 30 minutes a day. Not a big deal, and my body thanks me. What kind of exercise will you be doing?

  4. Don’t you love when you read something and there it is- bang- a point that just really hits home? As for exercise, I believe it really does become an addiction once you get over the hump. That hump takes a few weeks. Maybe a buddy can join you? I love it so much more when with a friend. Good luck!

    • That’s a good idea. My husband wants to start too and we have a bike and treadmill – we’re going to try taking turns and watching a movie while we workout. We’ll motivate each other.

  5. love your post as I am also trying to form this particular addiction. My new fitbit is helping—something about getting those little flashing lights when you’ve met your goal—silly as it seems–is working! Best to you!

    • Haven’t heard of that one. I’m trying the “don’t break the chain” – you colour in the date and keep doing the activity without breaking the chain.

Leave a Reply

