March Slice of Life – #7

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 7 of the March Slice of Life, the fun, daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”

Last night I stayed up late once again this week to finish a book. It wasn’t as late as the night before (3:30 am), but it was late (1:30 am).

7304203

I am not one of those who can read a chapter or two before bed to help me fall asleep. Rather, if I start to read, I usually get drawn into the book and can’t put it down until I finish it.

While I was teaching, I usually did not let an obsession lead me to late night reading. I just tried not to read a favoured book Sunday to Thursday. Usually. But there were times over the years that I went to school a bit tired when I couldn’t not finish a book.

Now that I am retired, I tend to read more during the day, so that my evenings are freer when my husband is home from work. There haven’t been too many obsessions where I just had to keep reading.

This “Fever” series by kare4n Marie Moning though has me caught in its web. I find fantasy series are especially obsessive for me – the creativity and world-building draw me in.In the past week I have read five of the series so far. Luckily, I have been able to get the books through the library.

But, when I do become obsessed with a series, I will buy to feed my addiction. That happened particularly with the Gamache mystery series by Louise Penny. When I read the first of her books several years ago, I discovered it was number six in a longer series. This book was  the book chosen for “One Book, One Community” in our region that year and I really enjoyed it. When I checked her website, I discovered there were five previous books. I went to the library first and could only get the second and third. So I bought the first and then later, four and five. Once I had caught up, I had to wait several months for number seven and then it has been a yearly wait for the next books in the series. Number ten comes out Aug. 16 and I can’t wait. I will definitely be in line that day to buy it.

Throughout the years, there have been many series (or even just favourite authors) who I became obsessed with:

The Anne series as a young teen

The Lord of the Ring series

Books by Mary Stewart, Jean Plaidy, Robert Heinlein

In the past ten years, it has been:

Harry Potter series

Hunger games and Divergent series

A-Z mysteries by Sue Graftton

Highlander series

Some last the whole series but others for whatever reason, I am still trying to finish them (Highlander series is one, Kathy Reichs “Bones” books another)

I am itching to dive into number 6 (Iced) but it is the weekend and I try to spend quality time with my husband  It will have to wait til Monday. (well, maybe I’ll just read a couple of chapters while he watches a show…)

14 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – #7

  1. It’s so fun seeing other people’s favorite books. I don’t know so much that it reveals anything about inner workings as it does what intrigues us. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Lots of good books, lots of good authors. So many to choose from and not enough time to devour them. Happy reading!

  3. I love a good book, especially one that I don’t want to put down! I am just starting a new one and I’m hoping it will be this type! Happy reading!

  4. I love series, but hate it when there’s a year to wait for the next book. I guess being a little behind in current authors isn’t such a bad thing, that way the you don’t have to wait for the next book.

  5. There’s nothing like being lost in a good book in the middle of the night! Since I teach 7th graders, I try to stay a step ahead by reading series that might interest them. I’ve currently been shining my book light on Neal Shusterman’s Unwind series…creepy but oh so good! I’m nearly done with the second book.

  6. This far I have read late only once! (and I still teach!) Books just get a hold of me, and like you, I can’t let them go!

Leave a Reply

