March Slice of Live – Day 9

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 9 of March Slice of Life, the daily writing challenge at “Two Writing Teachers”.

My first three years of teaching were spent in a small native community south of Inuvik, NWT. Because we only went south once a year to see our families, the other teachers became our families.It has been almost forty years since I taught there but the memories are still very vivid. It was a defining time for me for sure.

Yesterday, my husband and I went to see a couple who I taught with up north. Whenever we get together (which isn’t as often as we’d like), it is like we haven’t been apart at all. It was such a treat to visit, and reminisce.

Yesterday as well, I visited Erin’s blog and read her loving tribute to her husband – “Love Is”.

As I was thinking about our visit yesterday, I could not help but think about my husband and just how much he must love me.

Love Is…

Love is driving me to old friends of mine, getting lost because I brought the GPS and then just turning around to find the correct route. Instead of a 40 minute drive, it was almost an hour and a half. And, he never complained.

Love is listening to the three of us talk and talk about our time in the north and smiling. And then telling me later he had  had a great time.

Love is staying later even though he had to work the next day because he knew I was enjoying myself so much.

17 thoughts on “March Slice of Live – Day 9

  1. Thank you for sharing this experience of being with “teacher friends” and having an understanding husband! I made many connections to this and my own husband’s understanding of ALL things teaching. A touching tribute to your hubby…

  2. Love matters more than anything else. This post takes me back to people I don’t see often but feel so comfortable with any time I do see them. Thank you for reminding me of this. Your husband sounds lovely.

  3. Isn’t it lovely that you put into words your appreciation of your dear patient husband. I must do that….there are so many things I am grateful for when it comes to my husband. Thanks for the little nudge.

  4. Thank you for sharing this, Bev! My husband is a principal, and I am a teacher; so sometimes it seems school is what we talk about most. I often forget how very important it is that he understands where I’m coming from. Thank you for reminding me.

  5. When I read something like this…I smile and reflect…and I also think…how fortunate you are to have such a husband…and yet…he, too, is fortunate…as it sounds like a two way street….a good solid relationship by both of you. I am in my second marriage and have found a similar husband as yours…and every day I am just in wonder. Thanks for writing this touching post…I felt I was in the car with you…getting lost…but I think I might have said a few growly words. 🙂

  6. What a sweet man you found to share your life with forever. Too often we just assume they know what we think, sometimes it’s good to put it in words to revisit later. Sweetness!

Leave a Reply

