March Slice of Life – Day 13

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 13 of the March Slice of Life, the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Today is Friday the 13th. For some, it  is a day to dread. Superstitions abound. I remember as a kid not wanting to step on a crack or I’d break my mother’s back, I still don’t like to go under ladders.

There are those who embrace the day. In Ontario, every Friday the 13th is a day where thousands of motorcyclists descend on the small town of Port Dover. It has become a beloved tradition.

People talk about bad luck, good luck, as if a day or a number can make a difference in an event. I still catch myself knocking on wood after making certain statements.

That got me thinking of the statements that have been touchstones for me, that I return to for support. Over the years I have filled six or seven small books with quotes, many that I have gotten here. Many of the quotes become a mantra to get through tough times.

Here are some of those which I have created a journal page or card for, to highlight them.

miracle 001

be true 001

joy card leacock 001

write it on your heart 001

extraordinary 001

terry fox 001

What’s your favourite quote?

4 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 13

  1. I have never been a quote collector, but one that stays with me is from Brene Brown, “Maybe stories are just data with a soul.” That’s why I try to write.

Leave a Reply

