March Slice of Life – Day 15

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 15 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”

I was laying in bed this morning thinking about what to write today and I thought about my favourite things.

I still remember an activity that I always began with at the beginning of the school year. Each child would be “Star of the Week” and one of the things they had to do was share a list of favourites with the class as well as some pictures. I did it as well, to start the process. The sheet and photos would then be up for the week for others to see.

Here’s a sample of the sheet with a few of my favourites.

favs2 001

I  also did the heart mapping exercise as described by Georgia Heard here. A very powerful exercise and one the children could refer back to when they needed a topic for writing.

These are a few of my fav-our-ite things….(in a bit more detail)

Flowers: I have been lucky that in the past 15 years I have been with my husband, hardly a day goes by that there aren’t fresh flowers on the table. Right now pink and white tulips are ready to open.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Books and reading: I love to read but I also love to collect books. I check out yard sales in the summer and our local goodwill shop – especially now for chapter and picture books to study. I have been using the library much more often but I still have toooo many books. I read almost any genre (except horror)

Hearts – I collect heart containers which sit on my dresser and hold jewellry. I also love heart shaped objects – of glass, stone or marble.

Music –most days , music is playing in the background. Lately my favourite singer is Sam Smith. Piano, flute and violin music really moves me.

What a re some of your favourite things?

6 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 15

  1. I love talking about my favorite things in my students. I learn so much about them. I always bring in my book collection or some of it anyway and my eggcup collection. When I was growing up I had a soft-boiled egg and a piece of whole wheat toast every morning for breakfast with a little glass of orange juice.

  2. So many of your favorites would be on my list of favorites too. Gorgeous tulips, I just wish they would last longer. I am a collector of picture books. I had to laugh when you said you didn’t like horror. I don’t care for that genre either, but recently I read that Jon Klassen’s book, I Want My Hat Back is an example of horror. Oops, I love that book. I thought that was funny. I also like Sam Smith, but currently my favorite is One Republic.

  3. I still haven’t read Klassen’s book – may have to buy it! I still have a lot of pix books left from when I was teaching – saved most of my mentor/special books for my own kids’ kids’ (whenever they arrive!)

Leave a Reply

