March Slice of Life – Day 18

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 18 of the March Slice of Life, the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”

Today would have been my Dad’s 92nd birthday. Hard to believe that he has now been gone for 43 years. He died at age 49, when I was 20. I had just quit university and was trying to find a job, when he died suddenly, in an accident.

My mother was just 43 and had five children to raise on her own – my three brothers, aged 10, 14 and 25 and my sister 16. She never remarried or even dated.

I take after my father in many ways – my build

-my thick dark hair

-my love of reading and math

-even my belief that no one is any better than anyone else

me with m & d 001

Dad, Mom and I when I was just a few weeks old.

I have many memories of my Dad:

-flooding the rink night after night, standing in his long navy coat and then watching us skate

-playing with our boxers

-laying on the couch “resting his eyes” –  but not sleeping

-camping, swimming, playing at the ocean in Maine

-playing catch

I still miss him.

dad mar17 001

(My dad celebrating St. Patrick’s Day – quite the outfit!)

6 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 18

  1. How succinctly you wrote of your father’s influence, the memories you keep, the impact his untimely passing had on your family. I consciously choose to remember my mother on her birthday, too, though my subconscious gets the best of me each June, the month she died. I’m sorry we share the legacy of losing a parent too soon!

  2. Love that you wrote about your father, gone too soon, and love that final picture. He must have been such a fun-loving man. Beverley, your memory of flooding the yard reminds me of a favorite book, Twelve Kinds of Ice. If you haven’t read it, you should find it, all about the winter memories of skating and flooding their yard.

  3. That was absolutely beautiful. You managed to bring out the personality of your father and it sounds like he would have been a wonderful man to know.

Leave a Reply

