March Slice of Life – Day 26 and 30 Words Thursday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 26 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Today is also “30 Words Thursday”, a writing/ photography challenge hosted at “Treasures Found”. Form a photo taken, you are then to write 30 words about it.

I had no idea what I was going to write about today until I set my plate with a  toasted English muffin on the table and saw  – my mid-morning ritual. That was the inspiration for my poem.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Morning Ritual

 My mid-morning ritual

Tea and toast

A good book

Planning the day

Music in the background

A pause

A time to reflect,

To read

Before a return to

Tasks, obligations

(I’m reading “After the War is Over” by Jennifer Robson)

Do you have a morning ritual?

11 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 26 and 30 Words Thursday

  1. I do not really have any ritual, but my husband has a whole progression of eating rituals throughout the day. I don’t do much snacking, perhaps a few crackers around 3:00. It’s great that you pause and read a bit before returning to the task at hand.

  2. Envious of your mid-morning ritual -tea, toast and a book. No rituals. Interesting challenge the photo + 30 words combination.

    • I need that break. When my children were young I would take that break after supper – tea and dessert with a book and they knew I needed that half hour. Now I’ve just changed the time.

  3. I wrote about mine here…http://shanjeniah.com/2012/10/03/coffee-flavored-conversation-octpowrimo-oct-3/

    It’s changed a little in the last few years…we don’t do it every morning together, but I still usually have my coffee in bed, sometimes with my laptop, or my Kindle, or just myself. I sip and wake in a leisurely fashion – one of the joys of being an at-home unschooling mama of two kids old enough to not need me right there with them each moment…

    I love your tea and toast time. I’ve found that I often have an ebb somewhere between 4-7pm, so I tend to have some coffee and read, play with the kids, or noodle with something for a couple of hours, until I feel the urge to resume my routine of writing and hometending sprints.for another few hours with renewed energy.

    I loved peeking into this slice of your day. =D

Leave a Reply

