Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – the weekly writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”

Of all the times for there to be a problem with our pipes. On Sunday, a couple of hours before we were to host a birthday dinner for ten, complete with turkey and all the trimmings, my hubby discovered a leak in the basement. Luckily for us he found it early. But the water had to be turned off.

You never realize just how much you need to wash your hands or turn on the taps, until you don’t have water. I still had to peep potatoes and get the vegetables ready. So, thewater was turned on about an hour before supper while I filled pots, bowls and other containers. I felt like a pioneer woman.

But I was able to cook everything, serve dinner and enjoy it, even without running water. The dishes though, were pileed around the kitchen.

Monday I was able to get a plumber in to fix the pipe ab=nd by late last night I had washed the last of the dishes.

How thankful I am for running water!

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. When I think of all those who don’t have running water, I know that I am blessed, as you just figured out, too, Bev. Good for you for moving right along & having a good dinner celebration. Dishes can wait!

Leave a Reply

