Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – the weekly writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers. What a wonderful writing community it is.

When I heard yesterday that David Bowie had died, I was shocked. First that such a legend had died so young and then that he was only five years older than me.

Thirty years ago, 69 would have seemed old. Not it seems young to me. It is all perception.
It also got me thinking about perceptions about age that I have had throughout my life.
When I was in my teens, a 30 something neighbour seemed so sophisticated. She always dressed well and drew people to her. When I was in my 30s I wondered when I would be that sophisticated. I am still wondering.

At my 25th birthday, I admitted to a friend that I feared there wouldn’t be any more firsts. If I only knew then how many more firsts there would be. I look forward to many more.
At 43, I complained to my doctor about some aches and this 32 year old said what would I expect – I was getting older! No sympathy.

At 46, I was unhappy with my marriage and struggling with depression (I know that now – the emotional abuse didn’t help) Then the death of an older woman, an art gallery owner I had talked with only weeks later, made me realize it was never too late to grab our happiness and live the life we wanted. She did and died happy. I did not want to die unhappy. I separated and moved Although I said I would never remarry, I remarried at 50.

At 60, I insisted on taking a cruise to celebrate our birthdays rather than face a party. I felt time closing in and needed to do something crazy and different.

As I move through my 60s, I know age is but a number but my body is rebelling and there are some limitations. Inside I feel young. My mother had her first stroke at 68. My daughter is always after me to take better care of myself. And she is right. I need to.
Listening to the eulogies for David Bowie, one struck me deeply. Bowie had an incredible curiosity about people and the world. He worked on his passions right up until his death. He was always looking forward.
Thank you David Bowie for being such an inspiration – in so many ways.

13 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. Having just turned sixty-nine myself, I, too, was shocked at how relatively young David Bowie was when he died. Last year when I was afraid that I might die of cancer, I was particularly distressed that I was still in my sixties and had just retired. I felt there was so much more I wanted to do and experience including wanting to see both of my thirty- something children settled and happy with their lives.

    Well, I got a reprieve and David Bowie did not. But before he died he threw everything he had into his creative process, knowing his time was limited. He and Oliver Sacks, about whom I wrote on this blog site not too long ago, are both examples for me of squeezing the most you can out of the life you are given, while you still can.
    It’s a lesson for all of us and a reminder that time is always ticking….

  2. Although I’m 33, I began to realize recently how quickly time DOES pass. It has something to do with the fact that yesterday my baby girl had curls and today her hair has barely a wave. That my son can now put his own shoes on and a month ago this was a major obstacle. I’m doing my best to cherish it all now so I have many years to enjoy the moments.

  3. I turned 50 in 2014. It makes me giggle sometimes because I don’t feel 50 in my head. My body s eating me down somewhat, but my head is not. Let’s all keep learning, acting doing, in spite of our bodies, because our brains are still young.

  4. I, too, was really struck by Bowie’s death, and realize what an impact he had on my formative years. And yes, perceptions of age change dramatically as pass through the decades. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. I was a Bowie freak in my younger days; as both he and I aged, I came to appreciate the way in which he always looked forward to the next creative challenge, and never rested on his laurels or stopped taking risks. When one grows older with that philosophy, time is never wasted. And we never know, really, how much time any of us ever really have.

  6. Age is just a number is what I always said. Then the number became 60 and it just didn’t make sense to me. How did this happen? Now I’m savoring ever day and take nothing for granted. Life is to be lived and enjoyed. You are doing that.

Leave a Reply

