March SOL – Day 18

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 18 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers.”

 

Today is also my Dad’s birthday – he would have been 93. He died in 1972, at age 49.

This morning , so many memories played in my head:

-standing for hours flooding our backyard rink with a hose, wearing his long navy coat and fur hat

-playing with our boxers, throwing a stick

-reading, always reading

-meeting me in a walkway near our house when I was late for supper and not saying a word as I followed him home – 13 was a cray year!

I so regret my kids never knew him, but they know of him. I can see some of him in each of them.

Today is a day I usually do some artwork and I drew his face:

dad drawing 001

 

as well as an art tag (part of my 366 art tag challenge)

tag for dad 001

 

Happy birthday Dad!

6 thoughts on “March SOL – Day 18

  1. Stories of people losing their father–especially at such a young age!–makes me hug my father tighter and appreciate him even more when I see him. I’m sorry you lost yours, but I’m sure he’s smiling down on you. Happy birthday to him!

  2. I like the way you list your memories. Sometimes I get stuck trying to capturing whole moments and forget that it is the catalog of moments that tell who our special ones really are. Thank you for sharing about your dad, and the artwork and tag are an especially nice touch.

Leave a Reply

