March SOL -Day 21

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 20 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge at “Two Writing Teachers”
One of the benefits of reading so many slices yesterday was discovering new bloggers and new ideas for writing. Books – both as read alouds and touchstones for ourselves – was an especially interesting topic to explore. It got me thinking about books that have had an impact on my life and books that I loved to read aloud in my classroom.
Part 1
I so enjoyed reading aloud to my students – both picture books during reading and writing workshops and chapter books after last recess. I still miss this the most since I have retired from teaching.

A few of my favourite picture book read alouds:
Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox, illus. by Julie Vivas
It’s a Book by lane Smith
The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith
Stellaluna by Janell Cannon
Mr. Peabody’s Apples by Madonna, illus. Loren Long

Reading a chapter or two after last recess was always a way to calm students and inspire them with good stories. So many times they asked for just one more chapter – and I usually did.
A few of my favourites:
Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
The 100 Dresses by Eleanor Estes
Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner
And – 3 books by Kate DiCamillo:
Because of Winn Dixie
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
Tale of Despereaux

2 thoughts on “March SOL -Day 21

Leave a Reply

