Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – the weekly writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Reading Dana Murphy’s post yesterday (“Show Up and Do the Work”) on Kate DiCamillo and then watching Kate’s and Mr. Schu’s webcast was a godsend.

Kate DiCamillo is by far my favourite children’s author. There is so much power and heart in her novels. I have read and reread many of her books. What a joy it was to read her books to my students each year and see them caught up in her story-telling magic. “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane” helped me heal after my mother’s death.

I have been stuck in a long writer’s block – allowing other’s words to stop me from writing with abandon. I have written some, but it feels like a chore.  I needed to hear Kate’s words and her advice.

I loved “Because of Winn Dixie” even after the fifth time. So it was refreshing to hear that Kate had at least four drafts and the first was so different from the published copy. I aim to explore her journey with this treasured book.

“There is magic in just showing up and doing the work.” Kate writes every day, even if it is nonsense. How freeing that is to hear. I just need to write and not worry about the end result. Just do it.

Kate is so right that reading does feed our souls. That has sustained me in this long drought.

I jot down ideas, but I don’t keep a notebook as Kate described. Her advice to keep all parts of oneself open – eyes, ears, heart – is wonderful advice. I need to do that consistently.

Thank you Dana for providing the link. Thank you Kate for the advice. I absolutely needed to hear it. You have eased my self-doubt.

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. I see this doubt in writing becoming a common thread today. You showed up and you wrote today! That is the first step. Thanks for sharing your struggles with us. Hopefully sharing will give you the gentle nudge you need to keep writing.

  2. I’ve been struggling too, Bev & your post makes me feel a little better. I am writing, but not so regularly. Now that I am retired it seems I would have all the time in the world, but I fill it differently. Thanks for sharing your feelings and that link. I missed it so will look now!

    • Thanks Linda. I thought being retired would give me so much more time as well – but since last year with my husband home more and recovering and now on disability, my routine is almost non-existant. I have to reestablish my writing ryhthym .

  3. I am also a huge fan of Kate DiCamillo. I loved her webinar with Mr. Schu! So much laughter. If you don’t already, follow her on Facebook. She is equally as easy going and engaging there. I am trying to take her advice, but I get distracted by reading so many great blog posts. Ha!

  4. Thanks for this post today Beth Bev. I will retire in a week or so. It will be official in just over a week, but I have to go back and finish work. After that I hope to work on writing. Your post today has been inspiring and assuring. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

