Day 8 – MUDDLE: 31 Days of Writing

take-the-write-31-days-challenge-768x768

Today at 31 Days of 5 Minute Free Write the theme word is muddle.

20-2-e1473705920896

 

I have used that word many times but needed to check its definition. It is both a verb (bring into a disordered or confused state) or noun (untidy and disorganized state).
A muddle of emotions or trying to muddle through something and hoping for a good result – both of these I’ve experienced.
Right now, I’d say my basement is a muddle of too many things – it’s cluttered and needs to be cleared.
Yes, we do try to muddle through and often succeed. Words like mess, jumble, mishmash, even chaos can describe a place, an event, even a feeling. Just need to sort through the disorder and see an end in sight. (I know – as I looked back on this last paragraph, it is a bit of a muddle.)
The words of Harold Wilson gave me a bit of a lift though – could serve as a kind of motto – especially for a right brain like me.
“I’m at my best in a messy, middle-of-the-road muddle.”

muddle-001

Leave a Reply

