#MustReadin2017

mustreadin2017-1

I have signed up for a number of reading challenges this year. My major goal is to read 400 books (I achieved that in 2016, so am pretty sure I can do it again)
Carrie Gelson of “There’s a Book for That“” is encouraging us to share our Must Read Books for 2017.
I have so many on my TBR list and so many books gathering dust on my shelves, I really must make a stab at reading them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(and this is only 2 shelves out of 7 bookcases!)

So this challenge is a good one. I have a bad habit of buying books because they appeal for any number of reasons (genre, fav. Author, theme, recommendation). Then I start reading it and ignore the ones already on my shelves. I also get lots of books from the library. Right now I am juggling five books – from non-fiction to MG to novel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
For this year, I have a fairly long list I really want to read.
MG to YA
Ice Fire by Chris D’Lacey
The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman
Making Bombs for Hitler by Marsha Forchuck Skrypuch
The Hobbit by Tolkein
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Adult Non-Fiction 
On Writing by Stephen King
Gift From the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
Into the Abyss by Carol Shaben
In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion

Adult Fiction 
Emma by Jane Austen
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
The Outlander by Gil Adamson
Plus – finish series by Sue Grafton (T to W)

I hope to read many more from my TBR list but this will be a good start, with some variety.

What a re you planning to read this year??

7 thoughts on “#MustReadin2017

  1. Pingback: #MustReadin2017 | There's a Book for That

  2. Making Bombs for Hitler Is a book I want to read sometime. Skrypuch is an author I always love to read. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion is one of, if not her best book. I read it a few years after my father’s death and it gave great insight into my mother’s experience. It’s a book I recommend whenever someone experiences the death of any parent just so they will be able to be more supportive of their remaining one. Happy reading this year!

Leave a Reply

