Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hToday is Slice of Life Tuesday – the weekly writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Three things this past week have really been resonating, and causing me to pause and reflect.
1. Last Wednesday, I was waiting for my hubby to finish rehab when I saw a picture of Stuart McLean on the news and then the words memorial. No, he couldn’t have died. He was only 68!
It took a long ten minutes before I saw the message at the bottom of the screen, that yes indeed, one of the best storytellers in our time had died. We knew he had been battling cancer, but we didn’t know just how serious it had been.
We had been to three of his show and listened endlessly to his stories about Dave and Morley. “Dave Cooks the Turkey” was probably my favourite story. But there are so many to treasure. He had a way of drawing you in, hooking you as he meandered and had us laughing and even crying as he shared his wonderful stories. (Check here to listen to some)
His death shook me – he always seemed so larger than life, so centred, so vital. He was a mentor to many and gave joy to all who heard him. No more stories – although I can listen to his CDs over and over.
Life isn’t fair and we don’t know how long we have. Stuart McLean lived well and shared his passion in so many ways. Thank you Stuart for all the joy you’ve given me. I already miss you.

2. A few days ago, I was doing what I usually do each day – visiting my favourite blogs to see what was new. When I visited “Positively Present”, the quote at the top struck me deeply.
Thinking about living is not the same as living.” These words are by Erin Loechner, from her book “Chasing Slow”
Being online, seeking out new ideas and new blogs, always looking for something – seems to be a regular habit, but is that really living? Are we really showing our real selves?
Erin would say no – so much of us is hidden. Spending so much time online also causes us to doubt ourselves it seems, makes us think we are not enough. I know I feel that – and so I seek more and more, trying to find that one thing that will make life perfect. But it isn’t and never will be. And that’s okay.
We just need to live – live out loud and off-line.

3. As I was finishing writing this, my favourite show “This is Us” came on and I settled in to watch.
I am continually moved by the interactions of these characters and the brilliance of the show. Tonight was no different. And when Randall’s birth father offered some advice, it seemed like the universe was really hitting me with one more admonition to just live and live my best life.
William’s advice: “Roll down the windows. Turn up the music.”
In other words, live our imperfect lives to the fullest; don’t be afraid to really live. I hope I can take this truly to heart.

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. “Thinking about living is not the same as living.” How true. So often we get caught up in thinking about what needs to be done, what we can do, and what we should do that we don’t “do”. As a result life seems to pass us by. How sad.

Leave a Reply

