March Slice of Life -Day 6: E

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 6 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

E is for Exercise

For most of my life, exercise and I have had an on-again, off-again relationship – mostly off.

As a child I was skinny and active and then puberty hit. I hid behind my height and then my weight.

I took swimming lessons in my teens and then at university I loved to play squash.

When I went up north, I tried cross country skiing, badminton and volleyball. Then after a break-up, I turned to dancing, by myself. I would dance for 30 – 40 min every evening and slowly the weight came off and I actually felt good about my body.

But over the next twenty years, the weight slowly returned, as I turned to food to help ease the turmoil of a marriage unraveling and the stress of work.

I divorced, met Bill and remarried at 50. We tried walking, but not regularly. I attended some classes but dropped out. I tried dancing again, but by then the arthritis in my knees gave me too much pain.

This morning, I lay in bed thinking about my past relationship with exercise – not a great one. I also woke up once again with a headache and pain in my right side.

Bill got a fitbit from an award at work and has been tracking his food and walking for the past 6 weeks. He got me one for Valentine’s Day and though I have tried to get 10,000 (usually 8,000) steps a day, I have resisted all the other features.

But, I am tired of feeling unfit – of the excess weight, the lethargy, the pain.

I really do need to embrace exercise, not just endure it. It is not the enemy.

So – I am making a commitment here and now – to exercise for 30 minutes daily for the rest of March. It is said that 21 days helps solidify a habit and it is one I need.

Wish me well!

11 thoughts on “March Slice of Life -Day 6: E

  1. Good luck! I feel it is totally worth investing the time to exercise. I would suggest trying new things until you find something you love! Why not try dancing again? or Aqua aerobics if your knees are giving you grief.

  2. Best of luck to you! It is so hard to get back into it and stay on a schedule with it, however the benefits are worth it.
    I was always active when younger, but now in my 50’s I am trying to get back into working out & there are days when my body just cries.

  3. You have two great goals for the month of March: writing a slice a day and exercising! I am often amazed how hard it is to fit in that 30 minutes of exercise – it’s only 30 minutes of my day, but so hard to find the time. But, hopefully, with some music that jazzes you and the beautiful spring weather to inspire you, you will find the time and find that that time becomes an indispensable part of your day. Keeping my fingers crossed for you!!

  4. Stick with it! You will feel so much better. If you and your husband can find something you enjoy together that’s even better. My husband and I walk as many evenings as we can. Usually at least 5 nights a week. Not only do we get exercise, we talk to each other. Honestly, once you build your stamina a little, the hardest part is getting your shoes on. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

