March Slice of Life – Day 8: G

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 8 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

G is for Games

We always played games while I was growing up – card games like Eights, Hearts and Up and Down the River, as well as board games like Monopoly, Racko and cribbage.

My father taught me cribbage and I remember playing by myself to practice – and losing to my invisible partner.

As a teen, I grew to hate monopoly, as my siblings and I would have marathon matches that would carryover for days. I still prefer not to play that game.

With my own children, we played games like Wide World, Racko, Yahtze, and 5s & 1S (a dice game). My youngest loved Crazy 8 Countdown (with each number becoming crazy as we counted down) and he usually won.

For Christmas, Santa always brought a new game for the family. Some became favourites, others not so much. But we always played after Christmas dinner.

As they got older, Scattegories became the favourite for get-togethers. The laughter and the competiveness was always a part of that game.

I also love euchre and scrabble, although I haven’t played much scrabble at all in the past twenty years. We get together with another couple and play euchre – men against the women.

In the past few years, we’ve added Mexican Train and Sequence – games even the grandkids enjoy. I love any game – time to have fun, laugh and enjoy our time together.

What’s your favourite game?

10 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 8: G

  1. I always loved games. As a kid, my three favorite games were Chutes and Ladders, Candy Land, and Uncle Wiggily. Now we play Continental Rummy with or friends.

  2. I love to play games and played with friends all through my “growing up” years. Alas, my family does not like to play. Some of my favorites have been Kings in the Corner and Rummy. I am going to teach my granddaughter to play – and to enjoy it!

  3. I always loved Hearts when I was a kid, but I honestly don’t remember how to play anymore! Game night is such a great way to unplug for a little bit and be with family! So sweet!

  4. Scrabble is our favourite family game! Mainly played during the Christmas holiday when we all have a lot of time together at home, as a family! I like the laughter and enjoyment part and getting to BE together. Articulate is a game we enjoy a lot too.

  5. Overall, I think my favorite is Scrabble. I’ve played euchre a lot with my family- a tournament was part of our family reunion. I am terrible at it. My husband was good, though, so I could get away with being a mostly silent partner. I’ve played dominoes a lot, different games. Pictionary had its day. We played Pass the Pigs a lot for awhile. Another word game I enjoy is Boggle.

Leave a Reply

