March Slice of Life – Day 1: J

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 11 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

J is for Junk

It’s said that one person’s junk is another person’s treasure. Now that I am a “senior”, I am noticing that more and more of my treasures are in fact junk.

One of the favourite pastimes Bill and I have always shared was going to flea markets, yard sales and places like Goodwill, on the lookout for treasures in the junk. And we have found some treasures. The hug oil painting of water and tree for $30, the heart shaped boxes I use for jewelry.

My own children though have always just called it all junk and threatened to throw it all out when I went in a home. That very thing happened to my mother, even though I tried to stop my siblings from treating her things like junk. She was devastated. We all need to deal with our own “stuff” ourselves.

Marie Kondo, in her decluttering book “The Life-Changing Magic of TidyingUp”, stresses the importance of loving what you own. One of her first tasks is to hold each and every item you own and decide if you LOVE it. That would take me a long time to do, especially the books.

I know I do have to declutter – especially my school supplies/books. After almost 4 years of retirement, I am still holding on to files, books and games. It is so hard to let go of my identity as a teacher – and these things symbolize that for me.

But, I must admit, I do feel weighted down by the “junk” at times, especially as we have become holders of our parents treasures as well. Even I can see that many of the reassures we bought years ago are now just dust collectors. Time to be ruthless; time to square my shoulders and begin a purge.

14 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 1: J

    • I know – especially when we are both packrats and we both have so much of our own parents’ stuff to deal with. My plan is to take the challenge a bag at a time.

  1. My mother accused me of being unsentimental and cold when I doggedly refused to take any of my grandmother’s “junk” after her passing. Now several years later, and (I’d like to think) a bit wiser, I really regret that I have nothing of my grandmother’s on display in my home. My advice, purge with prejudice!

  2. The relates to the post I wrote yesterday on clearing out junk drawers! I love how you talk about the beauty of junk, but also the contrast of what happens when it gets to be too much. I wonder if some of your treasures can be set free for others to enjoy as new treasures 🙂

  3. It’s hard to admit that our treasures have become junk! My daughter is already sentimentally attached to too many things. I am trying to do her a favour and break her of this habit.

    It took my mother-in-law 10 years to get rid of her teaching things. 🙂

  4. I hear your pain and can relate to this post. I have a garage filled with stuff….most of which needs to be purged! The school books, my years of collecting old basals, that will be the hardest to KONDO! But like you, I need to reduce and compress….and I too will try…..come spring….

  5. I am noticing more and more that my treasures are more like junk. I love this….it made me chuckle out loud. I have to come to terms with all of my husband’s junk, I mean treasures he left behind! That won’t be easy for so many reasons.

  6. I can understand that for sure. When my siblings took my mom’s things, they never gave her the chance to decide. After she was gone, there were some things I would have wanted but they were already gone. Then were those things that made no sense whyh she wanted them – but they were hers. So difficult.

Leave a Reply

