March Slice of Life -Day 23: V

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 23 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

V is for…

All day I went back and forth, trying to decide what to write about. I thought knowing the letter V would give me fewer choices and so would be easier. NOT!

First, I thought I’d write about vacations

-favourite vacations– Vancouver, Cayman Island and Scotland

-most visited – Saratoga

-farthest north – Tuktoyuktuk

But then I thought – maybe vehicles – and write about the loss of my car (ex took it) and buying a used sporty model – oh yeah.

But no – okay – how about being vegan and vegetarian? My daughter is vegan and keeps trying to encourage me to go this way. Not ready yet – so no.

Then I thought, okay how about violin – my favourite instrument and wishing I had one my grandfather made.

Then I had the idea of writing about vampires – how I couldn’t stand to see or read the Twilight series, but then got so involved in the Sookie Stackhouse series and am now watching the True Blood series.

But no. Well then – Viking? (I do have Norwegian ancestry); violets  (that I can’t seem to keep alive?  Volleyball (and coaching a group even tho I never had coached before?

Nope none of those would do either.

Finally, I realized it was there all the time – Vancouver, Vancouver Island and Victoria – places we visited in 2008, the summer after my Mom died. Bill and I loved the cities and the travelling. We toured all over and would have gladly stayed much, much longer. There was so much to see and we only saw a bit.

And now I am so, so late. I got reading this evening and just read, til I realized I had not completed my slice in time. But at least I finally wrote and have a slice after all that back and forth questioning.

4 thoughts on “March Slice of Life -Day 23: V

  1. I really like how you went around the letter V – lots there for the future, I think. But, what struck me most about this post is how you ended up in Vancouver Island and how it ended with your mom and probably so much more.

Leave a Reply

