March Slice of Life – Day 29: Books!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 29 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

This morning I read Fran’s slice “Books I will read?” and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. She shared some interesting facts and asked some questions.

Now that I have retired I have been reading so much more than when I was teaching. Then, I would be lucky to read one book a month and I hardly got to the library at all (except the school’s).

Now, I usually read a book a day – from a variety of genres. And I order books online from the library several times a week.

Fran asked about whether we recorded books read – and I do – first in my weekly/monthly planner, so that I have a paper trail. I also record them on Goodreads (altho I am behind), although I do not usually leave a comment. I like that I can see how many of each genre I read – that gives me a nudge I’m neglecting certain genres. (I enter contests there as well – I finally won another one last week.

I am trying not to buy too many books – I really have tooo many books, especially TBR books. Costco is a bad habit – altho I am getting better at resisting new books there.

My last two purchases were 2 books by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and I am so looking forward to reading her memoirs.

As I looked back over the books I’ve read this year today, I had a few discoveries:

  1. I am reading a lot more ebooks, especially fantasies and sci fi (Freebooksy and BookBub are good sources for free ebooks – which is where I have discovered some new writers)
  2. I have read a lot of picture books
  3. I have discovered some new authors/series:

-Darynda Jones (I’m on her 7th book of her fantasy series)

-Susan Grant (ebook sci fi)

-Sarah Morgan (romance)

-Erin Bedford (fantasy ebooks)

  1. I have read some fabulous MG novels:

El Deafo by Cece Bell

Beautiful Blue World by Suzanne LaFleur

Magyk by Angie Sage

Wish by Barbara O’Connor

  1. Two favourite books this year so far:

Ms. Bixby’s Last Day by John David Anders

Star Princess by Susan Grant

 

I can’t wait to discover more great books this year.

What would you recommend??

6 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 29: Books!

  1. I too am reading a book by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Another is on its way. I read El Deafo and Mrs. Bixby’s Llast Day. I really enjoyed them. I’m currently reading Jim Thorpe All American. It gives me a sense of what it was like to be a native American. I plan to pass it on to a few football players in my classroom.

  2. I look forward to my Bookbub and Freebooksy emails every day and I usually end up getting at least once a week. The price is right and like you I have found some new authors that I really like.

Leave a Reply

