Blogging A to Z: I – Instruments

a_zchallenge_badge

Today is I – for the April Blogging A to Z Challenge. I am using Amy Rosenthal’s “Encyclopedia of Me” as my guide to journal daily.

 

I is for Instruments

I have a piano in the basement and it is collecting dust. I took lessons for a number of years and every once in a while I will go down and play. I wish though that I could play well – and yes daily practice would definitely help.

I have used instruments in my classroom – recorders, and percussion instruments. Children love to play – they aren’t worried by the sound – they just explore and have fun.

My grandfather made several violins – although I never did see any of them. That would have been special to have them still.

Music is necessary – even if we don’t play an instrument.  Listening to music is relaxing and soul satisfying.

Here is my journal entry.

instruments 001

Here are a couple of quotes:

First you learn the instrument, then you learn the music, then you forget all that s**t and just play.

~Charlie Parker

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.

~Berthold Auerbach

Leave a Reply

