Blogging A to Z: K – Kindness

a_zchallenge_badge

Today is K – for the April Blogging A to Z Challenge. I am using Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s “Encyclopedia of Me” to journal daily.

 

K is for Kindness

No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”  Aesop

Most religions have at their centre, a belief in the Golden Rule – a belief that we treat others as we want to be treated.

Yet, selfishness and cruelty have become more and more prevalent in this post Trump era. NIMBY is a strong force – neighbours are rejected if from a different country or culture.

We need to embrace the words of William Penn, who stated over 400 years ago:

I expect to pass through life but once. If, therefore, there be any kindness I can show, or any good I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again.”

 

There are several campaigns at work now to urge people to be kind:

Choose Kind (from the incredible book Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Kindness Matters

RAK

If we all did a kind deed every day, what a better world we would have.

kind 1 001

kind 2 001

6 thoughts on “Blogging A to Z: K – Kindness

  1. I think kindness is very much alive. When I come to a four way stop, most drivers wait their turn. Please and thank you are words I hear often, not just from people I know but from strangers. Just the other day someone with a cart full of food in the grocery store let me go in front of her in the checkout line when she saw I had two things. Don’t get me wrong, there are many, many rude people in the world. But I think there are more kind ones, even now.

Leave a Reply

