Connect Five Friday – Novels Like “The Color of Light”

connect-5-3

It’s time once again for Connect Five Friday, hosted at Book Date by Kathryn – the meme where we share five book/reading things that connect in some way.

I finished The Color of Light by Emilie Richards last night and loved it. A novel about ministers/priests questioning their faith and full of complicated relationships and characters was such an enjoyable read.

I went searching for others books like this one and checked Goodreads for a list. Their choices included many I had already read (2 by Susan Mallery: Sisters by Choice and The Vineyard at Painted Moon for example).

Here are 5 others I will be checking out (with reviews from GoodReads):

The Forever Girl by Jill Shalvis

forever girl 53175321

a heartfelt story of family, forgiveness, and secrets that have the power to change the course of more than one life.   When Maze returns to Wildstone for the wedding of her estranged bff and the sister of her heart, it’s also a reunion of a once ragtag team of teenagers who had only each other until a tragedy tore them apart and scattered them wide.  Now as adults together again in the lake house, there are secrets and resentments mixed up in all the amazing childhood memories.”

Meant to Be by Jude Deveraux

meant to be 54507487

“Two headstrong sisters are bound by tradition but long to forge their own path.   
It’s 1972 and times are changing. In the small farming community of Mason, Kansas, Vera and Kelly Exton are known for their ambitions. Vera is an activist who wants to join her boyfriend in the Peace Corps. But she is doing her duty caring for her widowed mother and younger sister until Kelly is firmly established. Kelly is studying to become a veterinarian. She plans to marry her childhood sweetheart and eventually take over his father’s veterinary practice.
But it’s a tumultuous time and neither sister is entirely happy with the path that’s been laid out for her.”

Promises of the Heart by Nan Rossiter

promises of the heart 45730154

“The first novel in a new series from  bestselling author Nan Rossiter tells the moving story of a couple struggling to start a family and the young foster girl with a heart condition who changes their lives forever.”

The Book Club by Mary Alice Monroe

book club 209361

“These middle aged moms are all in new phases of their lives. Everyone can relate to at least one woman and what she is going through – relationships, empty nesters, death, illness, infidelity, job loss but the thread that runs through this story is finding yourself again as a woman.”

Herons Landing by JoAnn Ross

herons landing36327762._SY475_

“Working as a Las Vegas concierge, Brianna Mannion is an expert at making other people’s wishes come true. It’s satisfying work, but a visit home to scenic Honeymoon Harbor turns into a permanent stay when she’s reminded of everything she’s missing: the idyllic small-town charm; the old Victorian house she’d always coveted; and Seth Harper, her best friend’s widower and the neighborhood boy she once crushed on—hard. After years spent serving others, maybe Brianna’s finally ready to chase dreams of her own.”

5 thoughts on “Connect Five Friday – Novels Like “The Color of Light”

  1. Have you read the rest of the series for The Color of Light. Yes that one was and is a top favourite with me. But the whole series is marvellous.I’ve read a couple of the above but none come up to The Color of Light in my opinion!!

    • I tried to get the rest from the library butr they only have that one and a couple of her other books which I have read. I may have to buy them! I loved that book too

      • Bev the whole series is just so good. I think The Color of Light was my fave but I loved them all. Pity we don’t live nearer for borrowing!

  2. I’ve enjoyed a few books by Monroe. The color of Light is at the library (or will be when I return it Monday!) Reserve it and you’ll have it when you get back.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s