Connect Five Friday – Unreliable Narrators

connect-5-3

It’s time once again for Connect Five Friday, hosted at Book Date by Kathryn – the meme where we share five book/reading things that connect in some way.

 

For one of the reading challenges in which I participate, a needed category is “a novel with an unreliable narrator”. As I checked for books, I found there were so many.

Here are 5 books with unreliable narrators that I want to read (summaries from Goodreads):

 

life of pi4214

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

“Life of Pi is a fantasy adventure novel by Yann Martel published in 2001. The protagonist, Piscine Molitor “Pi” Patel, a Tamil boy from Pondicherry, explores issues of spirituality and practicality from an early age. He survives 227 days after a shipwreck while stranded on a boat in the Pacific Ocean with a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker”

 

one of us is lying 32571395._SY475_

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.”

 

code name verity11925514

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

“Oct. 11th, 1943 – A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.
When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.
Harrowing and beautifully written, Elizabeth Wein creates a visceral read of danger, resolve, and survival that shows just how far true friends will go to save each other. Code Name Verity is an outstanding novel that will stick with you long after the last page.”

 

girl on the train 22557272

Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

“Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy. And then she sees something shocking.”

 

the seven and a half deaths of DH36337550

The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Tarton

“For fans of Claire North, and Kate Atkinson, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man’s race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem. 
This inventive debut twists together a thriller of such unexpected creativity it will leave readers guessing until the very last page.”

 

Which should I read first?

 

4 thoughts on “Connect Five Friday – Unreliable Narrators

    • Thanks Kathryn. I’m not usually either but these have been on my radar for awhile. That’s one thing about doing reading challenges – forces you top read out your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s