Connect 5 Friday – Books about Books

It’s time once again for Connect Five Friday, hosted at Book Date by Kathryn – the meme where we share five book/reading things that connect in some way.

I wasn’t sure what to focus on this week, but then I visited Kathryn’s blog and read her post about suggested books for Emilie Richard’s June topic for June. I have not yet read the book for the May category for this challenge.

Here are 5 books that are about books or a bookstore or library. (summaries from Goodreads)

The first 3 are books I borrowed from the library:

The Bookshop on the Shore by Jenny Colgan

“A grand baronial house on Loch Ness, a quirky small-town bookseller, and a single mom looking for a fresh start all come together in this witty and warm-hearted novel by New York Times bestselling author Jenny Colgan.”

The Transatlantic Book Club by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

“an enchanting new novel … about residents of Ireland’s Finfarran Peninsula who set up a Skype book club with the little US town of Resolve, where generations of Finfarran’s emigrants have settled.”

The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

“A warm, feel-good novel about the importance of finding a place where you belong – perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.”

Two other books I’m considering::

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

“On the faded Island Books sign hanging over the porch of the Victorian cottage is the motto “No Man Is an Island; Every Book Is a World.” A. J. Fikry, the irascible owner, is about to discover just what that truly means.”

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

“The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon away from life as a San Francisco web-design drone and into the aisles of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, but after a few days on the job, Clay discovers that the store is more curious than either its name or its gnomic owner might suggest. “

5 thoughts on “Connect 5 Friday – Books about Books

  1. Ah I am reading mine at the moment. Quite old fashioned and quaint but still book filled! I am waiting for The Library at the Edge of the World to turn up in my letter box. Jenny Colgan you can’t pass!

  2. I love reading books about books, bookshops, bookclubs, authors, publishing etc. The Transatlantic Book Club by Felicity Hayes-McCoy piques my interest. I have not heard of this author, so I will have to see if my library has this one. Nice list, Bev.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s