First Friday Poetry – June 2024

First Friday Poetry is our year long poetry challenge for 2024 . On the first Friday of each month, Linda and I (and anyone else who joins in) will be writing a poem of our choice – no themes and a photograph inspired by the poem or inspiring the poem.

Last year I wrote 30 word poems. I enjoyed the limitation, but this year I decided I needed a change. I am expanding to 48 word poems – in honour of 2024 (24 x 2!).

June has arrived so quickly. We’ve had rain the past few days and our gardens are exploding with colour. My favourites though are the peonies. All three bushes are pink. It was pouring today and I snapped a photo through our front door, hoping that these gorgeous blooms wouldn’t be crushed. Thanks to the metal surrounding them, they seem to be holding up better than other years.

Here is my poem, inspired by these flowers:

Peonies

Gracing my garden, year after year

Buds opened by ants

Top heavy with blooms

Pink swirls of delicate petals, layer on layer

Fleeting moments of beauty

Too soon, petals brown

Bend with wind and rain

Brushing the ground

Yet their beauty and perfume linger.

We hope that you will join us by writing a poem or two this year.

Don’t forget to check out Linda’s poem here.

Cheriee is joining us again this year. Here is her poem.

Lisa of LisaNotes is joining as well this month. Check out her poem here.

Hope to see you in July – first Friday in July is July 5th

4 thoughts on “First Friday Poetry – June 2024

Leave a comment