Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – a writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers” – where we share a slice form our lives

With my husband still recovering from surgery and his kids, who usually help us (at $10 hr), on a bit of a strike, it fell on me to attack the dandelions this morning. I became the designated dandelion slayer.

My husband prides himself on his lawn and he usually spends time each evening searching out those weeds. This year, those pesky weeds are taking over.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I removed a few last week before a heat wave hit and it was just too hot for me to work.

When I took the weed whacker out, it was broken. So, of we went to Canadian Tire to replace it. This Fiskars tool has a lifetime warranty and it was quickly replaced.

Once home, I grabbed it, a pail for weeds and a jug of grass seed. For over an hour I worked, falling into a steady routine:

Whacker pressed down,

Stepped on

Weed pulled out

Dropped in bucket

Sprinkled in grass seed

Stomped down

On to the next.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two pailfuls of weeds and the front lawn and boulevard were clear of those yellow weeds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tomorrow I get to mow. Whippee!

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. Now that’s a handy tool! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before. Your husband will be ever so grateful for all you put into eradicating those weeds. I just hope you didn’t do such a great job that this task will now fall to you every time. 🙂

Leave a comment