Day 1 – Walk: Write 31 Days

 

take-the-write-31-days-challenge-768x768

 

 

I have participated in the “Write 31 Days” October challenge several times. It usually had an art component as well.

This year I almost decided not to participate – but then I visited Heidi McCahan’s blog today and it struck a cord.

I have not made writing a priority for a long time and I need a boost to get me refocused on daily writing. I like the Free Write aspect described by Heidi and I know 5 minutes a daily with prompts is very doable.

So I am doing 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes (check here)

20-2-e1473705920896

within the 31 Days of Writing mantle. It should be an interesting challenge

 

Day 1: WALK

Hippocrites and Paula Cole had it right:

walk-001

In my head I know walking every day will vastly improve my health. Yet I resist.

We have a treadmill si I don’t have the excuse of weather. There is even a TV so I can watch a show or movie. My husband is more consistent than I am and he encourages me to join him. I have occasionally but I know I should do it more often.

The walkingI do enjoy is when we visit new places, especially when it involves the outdoors. Our trips to Banff, Vancouver, PEI, lake George have all resulted in long walks, lots of photos and a satisfying feeling of accomplishment and tiredness at the end of the day. We sure slept well after a good walk. Those walks have stayed with me a long time.

Maybe a virtual reality walk is in order??

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – Walk: Write 31 Days

  1. Hi, Beverley! I wasn’t going to participate this year, either, until I saw the Five Minute Free Write opportunity. Isn’t that cool that we both felt inspired to take the challenge? Glad to be on this journey with you and I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a comment