March Slice of Life – Day 27: Z

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 27 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

Z is for Zzzzzzzzzzz

Catching Zzzzzzzz or sleeping, should be pretty straightforward. You go to bed, close your eyes, sleep for 7 or 8 hours and then wake up refreshed.

I wish it was that easy. For as long as I can remember, I have had bouts of sleeplessness. I go to bed and then lie awake for 20, 30 minutes. Often, I have a scene running through my head or I am rehashing events. I finally get up, to write out that scene or jot in my journal or even just to read.  12:30 becomes 1:30 or even 2 or 3.

Since developing arthritis in my hips, I have developed sleep apnea. Which means I now use a C-Pap machine. So I can check on the machine just how much sleep I did get (or at least how long the C-Pap was on).

With the new fit-bit though, I am able to see the patterns of sleep. It is showing that I am restless several times a night.

Studies show just how beneficial sleep is. I wish I could just fall asleep and stay asleep.

Any suggestions??

6 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 27: Z

  1. I can usually fall asleep, but may have trouble staying asleep. In the past I have tried writing down my worries before sleep. Sometimes that helped. Best of luck to you.

  2. Oh- I am sorry. I have similar sleep challenges. I have been using an app called Relax Melodies to help me fall asleep. There are many free sounds and you can combine several, adjust the volume and even set a timer so that the sound goes off after a bit. I combine the wind, rain and ocean sounds and set the timer for 40 minutes. Staying asleep is a whole other matter… have not figured that one out yet!

  3. Wish I had some advice for you, Bev, but unfortunately I don’t. Kathy says that I could sleep through anything whereas she is a restless sleeper and is often up til 2 in the morning.

Leave a comment