July Reading Round-Up

rdg-roundup-001

July is ending with continued stress. My hubby got out of hospital after 6 weeks, was home a week when he spiked fevers throughout this past weekend and ended up in hospital again. With a different infection. I definitely needed fantasy and excellent books this month to escape – and I found many such books.

It’s time to share what I have been reading this past month.
The total read for July was 23 books, with the following breakdown:
Fantasy /Paranormal – 6
Historical Fiction/Historical Romance– 2
Romance – 7
Women’s Fiction – 5
Memoir/Non-fiction – 2
Pix books – 0
(Diverse books – (2)

I continue to record in more detail where the books originated – from the library, on my TBR shelves (bought/gifted or won), an e-book, or a charity read (Bought from a charity store). Here’s the breakdown
Library reads –14
TBR books –1
E-books – 8
Charity reads – 0

Here are the books read for my favourite challenges:

Popsugar Ultimate Reading Challenge (Through Goodreads)
I only read for 1 category for this challenge, so really need to catch up now.
#15 – Involving social media – The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren

52 Books in 52 Weeks
I read 3 for this challenge – slowly catching up
#5 – Character who is a senior – The Authenticity Project by Claire Pooley
#39 -Book used in a celebrity book club – In Five Years by Rebecca Serle
#44 – Recommended by Amazon – Storm and Fury by Jennifer Armentrout

Beyond the Bookends
The theme this month was “About Christmas”. I read 2 books:
Mistletoe and Cocoa Kisses by Stacy Eaton
Tangled in Tinsel by Stacy Eaton

Monthly Key Word Challenge
The key word I used this month was: “Summer”.
Summer in Sorrento by Melissa Hill

Monthly Motif
The theme this month was “Around or Out of this World”.
Come Away with Me by Karma Brown (Thailand, Italy, Hawaii)
The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver (England)
Seeker by Rita Pomade (sea voyage)
Summer in Sorrento by Melissa Hill (Italy)

Blogger’s Bookshelf
The theme was “Book with a map”
Seeker by Rita Pomade
Crescent City by Sarah J. Maas

Favourite Reads
Here are my top 10 reads:
Crescent City by Sarah J. Maas   (Absolute favourite though!)
Storm and Fury by Jennifer Armentrout
Smoke Bitten by Patricia Briggs
A Lady by Midnight by Tessa Dare
Come Away with Me by Karma Brown
In Five Years by Rebecca Serle
The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver
The Authenticity Project by Claire Pooley
The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren
Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Looking Ahead to August

I started two YA fantasy series (Hex Hall and Booke of the Hidden) and plan to finish them in August.
I’m taking part in 3 more reading challenges over the summer months. So will continue to work on these challenges.

Here are books read so far for these challenges:
20 Books of Summer Reading Challenge ( here for more info; here for my list/post) none read

2020 Summer Reading Challenge (at The Messy Middle) (Have now read the 7 I needed for challenge but want to do more of the categories)
Young adult novel (fantasy) – Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Book longer than 700 pages – Crescent City by Sarah J. Maas
Book with teacher – Menace by Laramie Briscoe
A Novel: The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver
About a country or culture, you have never visited: Seeker by Rita Pomade
Verb in the Title: Intercepted by Alexa Martin

2020 Popsugar Summer Reading Challenge (here for more info)
#3 – Takes place in dream summer destination: Summer in Sorrento by Melissa Hill (Italy)
#7 – Body of water on cover – Come Away with Me by Karma Brown
#17 – Sunglasses on cover – Intercepted by Alexa Martin
#19 – Classified as “beach read” – The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren

I am linking with the following:

Monthly-Wrap-Up-Round-Up400

Monthly Wrap-up(At Feed Your Fiction Addiction)

 

BotB-logo (1)

Best of the Bunch(at A Cocoon of Books)

 

Friendship-Friday-Button-1501

Friendship Friday Blog (at Create with Joy)

16 thoughts on “July Reading Round-Up

  1. I hear you on the Messy Middle challenge. Each year, I read as many books as I can for that one. It’s not even August yet, and I’ve completed all the categories.

  2. So sorry to hear Hubby’s been so ill. I know books are a good way to escape for a bit. {hugs} You’ve read a wonderful selection of books in July. I hope August is better, health-wise.

    • Thanks so much Flora. I certainly hope so. Although after a week, he is still in hospital and they are still trying to find where the blood infection is hiding.

      • Oh no, Bev. I’ve been sending my well wishes through the ether along the www. Hope the doctors track down that pesky infection and obliterate it. {hugs} x

  3. I’m sorry you’ve had such a tough month. If you’re still reading comforting fantasy I wholeheartedly recommend The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune, The Imaginary Corpse by Tyler Hayes and Sir Thomas the Hesitant and the Table of Less Valued Knights by Liam Perrin, they’re all sweet comfy cosy books, that have a lot of healing and good emotions (though they don’t shy away from dealing with some hard stuff, especially Imaginary Corpse is a lot about overcoming trauma)

  4. I’m so sorry to read that your husband is still struggling! I will keep your family in my prayers. I’m so glad you’ve found solace in books to help you through this trying time.

Leave a comment