Non-Fiction November – Week 1

It’s time for Nonfiction November, starting with my ‘Year in Nonfiction’, hosted by Heather –@ Based on a True Story   

Here are the hosts for the month:

Our hosts: 

Here the topics for the month:

Week 1: (October 30-November 3) – Your Year in Nonfiction with Heather @ Based on a True Story   

Week 2: (November 6-November10) – Choosing Nonfiction with Frances @ Volatile Rune

Week 3: (November 13-17) –Book Pairings with Liz @ Adventures in reading, running and working from home

Week 4: (November 20-24) – Worldview Shapers with Rebekah @ She Seeks Nonfiction

Week 5: (November 27-December 1) — New to My TBR with Lisa @ Hopewell’s Public Library of Life

There are a number of questions to help us with looking back on our year so far in reading non-ction.

What books have you read?

I read 18 non-fiction books this year so far.

What were your favourites?

House Lessons by Erica Bauermeister

The Honey Bus by Meredith May

The Way of the Fearless Writer by Beth Kempton

The Comfort Book by Matt Haig

Notes on Grief by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Have you had a favourite topic?

I seemed to focus mostly on religious and inspirational books. It was a challenging year – my older brother passed away June 1 after a couple of months of worsening Parkinson’s. These helped. I did enjoy the 4 memoirs I read.

Is there a topic you want to read about more?

I’d like to read more books on writing and creativity, as well as more memoirs in 2024.

What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

I always find so many great books that I add to my TBR list.

Here is a list of the NF books I’ve read so far this year:

The Honey Bus by Meredith May

You Could Make This Place Beautiful by Maggie Smith

Keep Moving by Maggie Smith

The Way of the Fearless Writer by Beth Kempton

101 Exercises for the Soul by Bernie S. Siegel

The Puzzler by A.J. Jacobs

Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor E. Frankl

House Lessons by Erica Bauermeister

The Comfort Book by Matt Haig

Notes on Grief by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Grief is Love by Mrissa Renee Lee

The Prayer Dare by Ron Kincaid

84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

A Faithful Heart by Sally Bishop Dyck

The Ultimate Brag Book About Yourself by Marla Albertie

I Chose You Imperfectly by Carmen Leal

Rise by John Pavlovitz

Picture Yourself Writing Poetry by Laura Purdie Salas

8 thoughts on “Non-Fiction November – Week 1

  1. Adding some of these to my to-read list. I read The Comfort Book last year and loved it. I’m glad to see you sharing here about Nonfiction November; I hadn’t seen it yet this year! I’m so sorry you lost your brother this year. I just had a friend last week tell me she got the diagnosis of Parkinson’s. 😦 She wasn’t surprised, but still disappointed by it.

Leave a comment