Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – the weekly writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

This is the third night of being so tired I wanted to just go to bed but am wide awake. It is also the third night my husband has been in the hospital.

He had a kidney transplant 12 years ago and although the kidney continues to work well, he has had a number of problems –  from diabetes, heart arrhythmia, to an incisional hernia – that has become almost too big to operate. He suffers from pain with his stomach as well, several times a month.

He was in pain Thursday and Friday but on Saturday, after not eating for two days, the pain was unbearable. We went to emerg. and he was finally admitted with a bowel obstruction.

The surgeon was wonderful and opted for a non-invasive method of easing the blockage.  It may mean a few more days in the hospital but it seems to be working. Tomorrow (okay, actually later today, Tues.) he starts more solid food to see if he can tolerate digesting it.

So I spend my days with him. He has actually become more like his old self. The pain over the past year especially has made him lose his optimism. He has lost faith that anything can help.

But maybe this doctor will be able to help him with this as well as with the hernia. I certainly hope so.

So, I come home alone. Read a bit, eat, catch up on a few blogs and eat and read and even watch a bit of TV. And then around 2, when I can’t stay awake I go to bed, and then toss and turn. I am very tired. But I am so thankful my husband is being looked after and pray that his pain will be greatly lessoned, once and for all.

10 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. One feels so helpless when a loved one is in pain. I hope this doctor can help. Life takes on a whole new rhythm when the other half of the couple is in the hospital. As Linda said, take care of yourself too. He will need you once he returns home.

  2. This in between time is so hard – a big part of you is with your husband, worrying about him and wishing to be by his side, it must be so hard to settle into a routine. But – so glad that you posted here today. Thinking of you and wishing you both good news soon.

    • Thanks Tara. When I couldn’t sleep knew I needed to unload – and SOL is a perfect place. Thanks. He was much better today. In fact – he may be going home tomorrow if all goes well tonight.

Leave a comment