Slice of Life Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – a weekly writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

It has been a while since I participated in SOL – and I have missed it – for the writing yes, but more for the community of writers.

Now, with a new year, I knew it was time to return to this weekly challenge – to encourage my writing and to reconnect with others.

Many have been sharing their OLWs. I have already done that – here. (at my art blog, as there are art components). My OLW is CULTIVATE.

What I wanted to do was to look back     – something that so many people encourage us to do. I for one, am certainly glad to see the end of 2016. There were some difficult times throughout the year, especially in regards to my husband’s health. He is seeking cardiac rehab now and the new doctor is a gem. I have hopes he will help Bill

It was also a year that saw little real writing. I felt blocked and just couldn’t move forward. Already this year I have written a short story and gotten several ideas for new ones. A big YES!

There were a few great yeses last year:

The engagements of my daughter and of my youngest son, a anew baby on the way.

A trip to Georgia in July for a writing retreat.

Lots of reading – over 400 books read.

Lots of time with family and friends.

This morning, I read an article in our local paper by Neil Pasricha (author of The Book of Awesome) and it really resonated with me. Even though 2016 was bumpy, we all changed and grew. Here’s a link to the whole article – it is well worth the read.

So, when I look back, yes there were bumps but yes, I can see that I did get stronger, did have many yeses. So bring on 2017. I am glad to be here and eager to write and have a year of many more yeses!

4 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday

  1. Attitude is everything and you sound ready to take on the new year. Glad you are back posting in SOL. As the song says, “What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger…” Here’s to new found strength. Happy 2017.

Leave a comment