Day 4 – March Slice of Life

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 4 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Shadows
As I looked around my yard this morning for shadows, my eyes landed on the Inukshuk.

P1013850.JPG

With snow still surrounding it, it reminded me of the North. Although it is an Inuit construct, it still represents my time there.
My first three years of teaching were spent in a small native community south of Inuvik. I learned what it felt like to be a minority, although I never experienced the horrible racism many native people still experience today. I came to appreciate the native people I encountered. There were community feasts and campouts, shared laughter and stories, and respect given on both sides.
I still miss the time I spent there. I wish all Canadians had the chance I had to experience the true North and to live and work with remarkable people and to fully embrace reconciliation. It is well past time.

6 thoughts on “Day 4 – March Slice of Life

  1. You did have a great opportunity. How wonderful it would be if we could all learn about other people and cultures. and embrace them for who they are and what they have to offer.

Leave a comment