Day 5: March Slice of Life

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 5 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

LOUD
As I thought about how I could photograph a sound, it hit me that our newer air conditioner\, which we had installed just last Thursday (before the snow arrived) is a vast improvement over our old one. It is larger but not noisy at all. It sits now on our back walkway, waiting for those hot days of summer.

P1013851.JPG
I can still remember though, that loud noise that would emanate from the back of the house when the AC was tuned on. I was glad the windows were closed, to muffle the sound somewhat. But sitting on the porch wasn’t as enjoyable with the loud rumble of the air conditioner. I also hoped it didn’t disturb our neighbours. They never did complain – they had their own AC and kept their windows shut though.
I’m looking forward to a reliable air conditioner this year, one that will keep us cool, with a lot less noise.

8 thoughts on “Day 5: March Slice of Life

  1. Hmmmm…how do you capture sound in a picture? I never thought about that. I agree, it’s much nicer listening to the sounds of spring and summer instead of a noisy air conditioner–much nicer to hear birds chirping, kids playing, and soft breezes blowing.

  2. You are getting a jump on preparing for hot weather. New appliances (is an air conditioner an appliance) are always so much quieter and more efficient.

  3. I can hear that picture in my head! Fear not friend, the cool days will be a blessing. I’m with you on hoping spring is around the corner!

  4. As we prepare for another nor’easter I long for the hot days of summer when the air conditioner kicks in. Hope you can enjoy some quiet porch time this summer, Bev.

Leave a comment