Day 7: March Slice of Life

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 7 of the March Slice of Life challenge – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

“B”
B is for books – of course. Books are probably my true obsession and my greatest weakness. Even though I have too many books (according to my children – but hey, how can you have too many books??), I still seek out more.
I frequent thrift stores near us and in the summer, yard sales. I always check the book aisle at Costgo. I look at thrift stores as a way to donate and get something in return – a win-win.
Just last weekend, I went to St. Vincent de Paul’s Thrift Store and donated $12 – and got a bag of books:
Writing Notes With a Personal Touch
Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast
The Boy Problem by Kami Kinard
As well as several romances and a fantasy book of stories edited by Charlaine Harris.
What a find that day.

My TBR pile is actually a bookcase. This shelf shows just a few of the books I still plan to read.

P1013853.JPG
I order books from the library as well – there are always books to read and more to seek out.
I belong to several book challenges (see here to see my list) and they provide a way to diversify my reading and encourage me to try different genres. Each month, I list what I hope to read from the challenges and I am getting better at doing just that.
This month, I am taking part in Reading for Research (ReFoReMo) and so I am reading a large number of picture books. I hope this will further inspire my own picture book writing.
As well, I keep lists (and lists!) of books that are recommended – from friends, from blog posts, the newspaper, anywhere really. I know I can’t read them all – but the fun is in the search and finding those special books that will really resonate with me and take me to another place, another world.
Off now to finish “Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers” by Sara Ackerman.

9 thoughts on “Day 7: March Slice of Life

  1. How can books be a weakness? They can give us solutions to problems we are facing. They can take us away on a magical journey. They can expand our knowledge. I am all for collecting books. There is always something new to add to the stash. Happy reading.

  2. I share your obsession with books and reading! I’m going to check out the link you provided for more ideas for my list. One thing I decided to do in my retirement is to read a classic every month or so, along with the slew of other books I read. Some of the classics I’ve read so far include Moby Dick, House of the Seven Gables, War and Peace, Middlemarch, and Mrs. Dalloway. Do you have any recommendations along this vein?

Leave a comment